Reviews, News and Commentary

APO’s Fairytale concert transports audience to new realms

Reviewed by John Daly-Peoples

Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra

Fairytale Romance

ICBC Great Classics

Auckland Town Hall

November 5

Reviewed by John Daly-Peoples

The three works on  the Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra’s  “Fairytale Romance” programme were examples of different styles of composition, from the carefully constructed. Mozart through the fanciful music of Mendelssohn to the expressive Brahms Serenade No1

Mozart’s Symphony No. 25 is one of the composer’s quintessential works written by the 17 year old composer with  its first movement used to great effect in the Milos  Forman’s film Amadeus.

The work is full of energy and inventiveness and there is a chiaroscuro of sound throughout, contrasts between light and dark which conductor Giordano Bellincampi exploited to the full. These contrasts also make one aware of the complex architecture which Mozart builds, structures which are then provided with rich embellishments.

Mendelssohn was also 17 when he composed the incidental music to  A Midsummers Night’s Dream , inspired by the Shakespeare play. In it he manages to completely capture the magic and frivolity of the ethereal world Shakespeare created. The piece seems to be the ideal music to be used for the Midsummers Night’s Dream ballet originally devised by  George Balanchine.

The orchestra depicted the fairies flitting  through the woods, the heavy rhythms of the Mechanicals  and the braying of Bottom along with the delicate themes portraying the lovers.

The Brahms Serenade No 1 also creates images but for this work Bellincampi was no longer waving a fairy wand, using the orchestra to  create a fantasy world. His baton became a brush using Brahms’ music to paint emotional moods and expressive landscapes rooted in the everyday. The contracts in the music  were those of the landscape – scudding clouds, changing  light  and colours

The lovely, descriptive  music was accompanied by Bellincampi’s graceful conducting and his dance-like movements on the podium

Future APO Concerts

Poetry and Passion

November 12

Leonie Holmes, For just a little moment…(world premiere)
Schumann, Piano Concerto
Tchaikovsky, Symphony No.4

NZ-based German pianist Michael Endres joins the APO playing  Schumann’s Piano Concerto replacing Ingrid Fliter.

By johndpart

Arts reviewer for thirty years with the National Business Review

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s